Join our server on Discord

Division
I've got a civil serice exam for the fire department coming up and I'm having trouble understanding a math problem in the book I'm studying.

Percentage; Whole = Part ÷ % · 100
Whole = (16 ÷ 47) x 100
Whole = (0.34) x 100 = 34

Now I won't be able to use a calculator on the test, so what I'm needing to know is how to do 16/47 on paper. That's the part that's got me stumped pretty much; how to do that kind of division (if there's a name for it, I'm afraid I don't know it)

Any help would be much appreciated.
Hmm.... I can half explain this, but this is one of those concepts in which the Handwriting tool in MSN Messenger is actually worth something. If you can meet me at a time, I can work you then.
[Image: crimson_brilliance010-albums-my-deshackl...mation.gif]

[Image: crimson_brilliance010-albums-my-deshackl...tion-2.gif]
The OCA
(01-08-2009 01:56 PM)BigD Wrote: I've got a civil serice exam for the fire department coming up and I'm having trouble understanding a math problem in the book I'm studying.

Percentage; Whole = Part ÷ % · 100
Whole = (16 ÷ 47) x 100
Whole = (0.34) x 100 = 34

Now I won't be able to use a calculator on the test, so what I'm needing to know is how to do 16/47 on paper. That's the part that's got me stumped pretty much; how to do that kind of division (if there's a name for it, I'm afraid I don't know it)

Any help would be much appreciated.

It's called longhand division. I have forgotten the finer specifics of it, but it actually involves a lot of work, so find a way to learn it and practive as much as you can. Take up Crim on the offer!

Believe in yourself! Not you who believe in me, not me, who believes in you.
Believe in you, who believes in yourself!
- Kamina of the Dai Gurren Brigade