Join our server on Discord

How do you keep going?
How do you keep going when nothing seems to go for you? When I graduated high school in 2005, I was on top of the world. I had a girlfriend who loved me, a future in the marines to be proud of. Then the marines turn me down, my girlfriend dumps me, I find out that I'm permanently disqualified from joining the service, and my first three jobs don't work out and now my fourth one isn't working out. I know I still have things to be thankful for and I'm trying to stay optimistic about my future, but after having everything going right and then suddenly go wrong, how can I be confident anymore?

I mean, yeah I have a home, a family, food, clothing and all that. But how can I be sure those won't suddenly go away? And if they do, what then?
First of all, you're feeling insecure because you've been turned down from four jobs which you think is a reflection on you as a person. Calm down. Your family won't leave you, and they aren't about to vanish in a puff of smoke. Understand? You have a safe haven to which you can return.

Next, jobs. You'll find your niche, eventually. There may be a long, hard slog in finding out what you want to do, and then doing, but you'll get there. It's always difficult coming out of education. There are thousands in your position. You will be fine, just wait.

It's sometimes hard, isn't it.
What's really got me down is how everything that made me happy just suddenly went away. If you could put me beside the person I was right after graduation, you would be able to see how much I've changed because of what's happened to me.
Nothing lasts forever. You're bound to have downs, but that also means you're sure to have ups, as well.
For the girlfriend, it's better to have loved and lost than to have never loved at all. At least you have your memories. As for the marines, even if that's what you really wanted to do, well, you know, the death risk.